AGU Sections

Each section selects its president-elect and secretary candidates. The current presidents-elect will move up to assume the president position, ensuring leadership continuity. Some sections also asked current secretaries to serve a second term.

Section presidents and presidents-elect serve as members of the AGU Council, along with the AGU president-elect, the chairs of three standing committees (Honors and Recognition, Meetings, and Publications), six students and early career scientists, the AGU president (nonvoting), the executive director/CEO (nonvoting), and up to five at-large appointed positions.

Atmospheric and Space Electricity

Near Surface Geophysics

Atmospheric Sciences

Nonlinear Geophysics


Ocean Sciences


Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology

Earth and Planetary Surface Processes

Planetary Sciences

Earth and Space Science Informatics



Societal Impacts and Policy Sciences

Geomagnetism, Paleomagnetism and Electromagnetism

Space Physics and Aeronomy

Global Environmental Change

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior



Mineral and Rock Physics

Volcanology, Geochemistry and Petrology

Natural Hazards