Andrea Donnellan

AGU member since 1987. Principal research scientist, Science Division, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, and Research Professor, Earth Sciences, University of Southern California, Los Angeles.

Volunteer experience includes AGU Nonlinear Geophysics Committee, 2000–2005; U.S. representative to the International Science Board of the APEC Cooperation on Earthquake Simulation (ACES), 2000–present; and Global Geodetic Observing System (GGOS)  Science Panel Member, 2006–present. ACES studies the physics and dynamics of the complete earthquake generation process and fosters collaboration between relevant complementary programs of APEC member economies. GGOS provides geodetic infrastructure necessary for monitoring the Earth system and for global change research.

Council members play a critical role in communicating to and from AGU members. How could we better engage AGU members in advancing important strategic objectives outlined in AGU’s strategic plan?

Nonlinear geophysics spans the many disciplines of AGU and has the potential to solve science problems that have been beyond the reach of traditional methods. The nonlinear geophysics focus can advance AGU’s strategic objectives through its interdisciplinary focus and by bringing science innovation and approaches to solve problems ranging from space weather to natural disasters. Many of these fields demonstrate similar statistics and fractal and multifractal distributions. Other common phenomena include the appearance of dimensionally reduced coherent structures, positive feedback loops, and the like. AGU will continue to benefit humanity through the scientific rigor of its ­peer-​­review publication process, including the nonlinear geophysics journal Nonlinear Processes in Geophysics, and can increase its effectiveness and engagement of members through expanded use of social media and online publishing. Nonlinear geophysics approaches will help develop solutions for sustainability of the planet. AGU’s meetings are key to promoting dialogue amongst a broad cross section of researchers, while workshops provide the opportunity to address a topic in depth. Town halls and lectures, such as the Lorenz Lecture and the Turcotte Award Lecture, provide opportunities to engage and inform researchers and other participants. Ignite sessions communicate geophysical topics in a succinct fast-paced ­5-minute format to local participants and are streamed to the broader public, informing society and increasing awareness and effectiveness of AGU. Engaging AGU members and encouraging collaboration between sections and focus groups will ensure AGU’s scientific leadership and role as the authoritative source of interdisciplinary Earth and space science information.

Brief CV

Major area of research is the application of geodetic imaging, numerical modeling, computational infrastructure, and pattern analysis to understanding the underlying dynamics of complex earthquake fault systems. Ph.D., Geophysics, California Institute of Technology (1991); M.S., Computer Science, University of Southern California (2003); M.S., Geophysics, California Institute of Technology (1988); B.S., Geology, Ohio State University, with honors and distinction in geology  (1986). Jet Propulsion Laboratory (1993 – present) and Research Professor in Earth Sciences, University of Southern California (1999–present). California Institute of Technology, Visiting Assoc., Seismological Laboratory (1995­–1996), NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, National Research Council Postdoctoral Fellow (1991–1993). Various positions at JPL include Principal Research Scientist (2008–present) DESDynI pre-project scientist (2007–2008), Deputy Manager, Science Division (2002–2005), Deputy Manager, Exploration Systems Autonomy Section (2000-2002). QuakeSim Principal Investigator (2001–present), US Representative to the International Science Board of the APEC Cooperation on Earthquake Simulation (2000–present), American Geophysical Union (AGU) nonlinear geophysics committee (2000–2005), Global Geodetic Observing System (GGOS) Science Panel Member (2006-present). Member American Geophysical Union and Seismological Society of America. Awards include NASA Group Achievement Award (2011), MUSES of the California Science Center Foundation Woman of the Year (2006), six space act awards (2005–2012), Women in Aerospace Award for Outstanding Achievement (2003), JPL Lew Allen Award for Excellence (2000), Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (1996). 53 peer-reviewed publications, 9 white papers.