AGU Board of Directors

Board candidates will compete for four open positions on the Board in this year’s election: president-elect and three directors. AGU’s rotation strategy is designed to retain about 50% of elected members each term to ensure leadership continuity. Continuing members for the 2017-2018 term include the current AGU president and president-elect in their new positions, the international and general secretaries, three directors, and the executive director/CEO (nonvoting).

To identify Board candidates this year, the Governance Committee adapted a process that has worked successfully to identify and elect the student and early career members of the Council in the past two elections. Committee members worked to understand the programs and projects continuing into the 2017-2018 term; reviewed the Board job descriptions, code of conduct, and leadership criteria; and invited current AGU leaders to nominate people they thought would be good candidates. Potential candidates were asked to apply, and finalists were interviewed by committee members.

Using the Board leadership criteria and experience needed for the Board’s continuing work plan as criteria, the Governance Committee looked for diverse perspectives and skills. The committee’s goal is to ensure that newly elected and continuing Board members will collectively represent the broad scope and diversity of AGU’s global membership, including disciplinary, geographic, gender, career stage, ethnic, and racial diversity.

Continuing Board Members :

Past President:

Margaret Leinen, Ocean Sciences


Eric A. Davidson, Biogeosciences

General Secretary:

Louise Pellerin, Near Surface Geophysics

International Secretary:

Susan Webb, Near Surface Geophysics


  • Kelly Klima, Natural Hazards
  • Cathryn A. Manduca, Societal Impacts and Policy Sciences
  • Soroosh Sorooshian, Hydrology

New Candidates:


Robin Elizabeth Bell, Cryosphere and Robert van der Hilst, Seismology


Position 1: Susan K. Avery, Atmospheric Sciences and Lisa J. Graumlich, Global Environmental Change

Position 2: Chris Ballentine, Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology and Richard J. Murnane, Natural Hazards

Position 3: Kerstin Lehnert, Earth and Space Science Informatics and Sabine Stanley, Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior